Skip to content

THAT’S BARRIO: Homework Homie Style

October 5, 2010

When I was little, I didn’t finish my homework because I never got home and it’s called homework.

The next day my teacher approached me, “Why isn’t your homework finished, young man?”

“Because I spent the night at my neighbor’s house and it’s called homework not away-from-home work.”

“So why did you even do two problems?”

“Because my neighbor lives two houses down.”

“Where are you spending the night tonight?”

“Depends — are you giving us homework?”

“Yes.”

“Definitely not at home.”

“Okay, I’m assigning you away-from-home work.  Do it.  See you tomorrow.”

The next day my teacher approached me, “Why isn’t your homework finished?  I thought you said you weren’t spending the night at home.”

“I didn’t.  I spent it at my cousin’s.”

“So why isn’t it finished?”

“Because that’s my home-away-from-home.  So technically, I would’ve been doing homework and that would’ve been disobeying you.”

She handed me back my incomplete work and shouted, “Take this to any house tonight and do it!  It’s called any-house-work, you got that?!”

The next day my teacher approached me, “Why isn’t your homework finished?!”

“Because I spent the night here.  I love school.”

I got suspended.

Corona

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

