Skip to content

MIJA: I Order You On a Hunger Strike

May 10, 2010

We were at Burger King about to eat when I told mija she was going on a hunger strike until my job gave me a raise.

“Why can’t you go on the hunger strike, daddy?”

“Because I get hungry.”

“So do I,” she said.

“Yeah, but you eat less,” I ate her fries.

“You gotta start now, mija.”

“Can I start after my happy meal?”

“Nope,” I pried the burger from her little hand and ate it.

Her lip trembled as she watched me drink her milkshake.

“It’s not polite to stare,” I reminded her.

She clutched her apple pie and chocolate Sunday and looked away.

“But it’s all so sudden, daddy, and I’m hungry, and I was about to eat.”

I pried the apple pie from her little grip and gave it to the little fat kid next to us, “He needs it more than you do, mija.”

I yanked the chocolate Sunday from her and shared it with fat boy because I love chocolate Sundays, too.

“I’m full.  Vamonos, mija.  Let’s go do this.”

She slumped, headed out and reached for a little plastic ketchup packet.

Before she could grab it, she slipped on the wet floor and ate a face-full of ground.

“Man, you couldn’t even last 5 minutes without eating something, could you?  There goes my raise.  Thanks a lot.”

Corona

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

